Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee

EFRA Committee Announcement: Brexit – Trade in Food second evidence session, 15 November 2017 (cereals and horticulture)

Date: 9 November 2017 at 16:08:31 GMT


House of Commons


Environment Food and Rural Affairs Committee


For immediate release: 9 November 2017


EVIDENCE HEARING: Brexit – Trade in Food


Wednesday 15 November 2017 at 2.45 pm, Grimond Room, Portcullis House


The Environment, Food & Rural Affairs Committee holds its second evidence session on Brexit – Trade in Food. Watch it online at Parliament TV.




At 2.45 pm

  • Sian Thomas, Communications Manager, Fresh Produce Consortium
  • Raoul Curtis-Machin, Director of Horticulture, Horticultural Trades Association
  • Nick Marston, Chairman, British Summer Fruits


At 3.45 pm

  • Sarah Mukherjee, Chief Executive, Crop Protection Association
  • Dr Martin Grantley-Smith, Strategy Director Cereals & Oilseeds, Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board (AHDB)
  • Michael Hambly, Chairman, NFU Crops Board


In this second oral evidence session of the Committee’s inquiry into Brexit – Trade in Food, two panels of witnesses representing key producer organisations and trade bodies will address the opportunities and challenges for the cereals and horticultural industry. The aim of the session is to set out key trade issues and options in light of Brexit, specific to each sector, at present and going forward.




Committee Membership:  


Specific Committee 020 7219 7341


Media Information: Sean Kinsey / 020 7219 5012


Twitter: Follow the EFRA Committee on twitter @CommonsEFRA


Inquiry page


Watch committees and parliamentary debates


Committee news and report, Bills, Library research material and much more can be found at All proceedings can be viewed live and on-demand at

EU Sub-Committee D – Agriculture, Fisheries, Environment and Energy

Sub-Committee D, is one of the European Union Select Committee’s six Sub-Committees.

The primary purpose of these committees is to scrutinise EU law in draft before it is agreed in the EU; scrutiny is carried out through correspondence with Ministers, evidence sessions with Ministers or officials, and inquiries.

Sub-Committee D scrutinises EU documents and policy on:

  • The Common Agricultural Policy (CAP)
  • Animal health and welfare
  • The Common Fisheries Policy (CFP)
  • The environment, including climate change.
  • Energy, including the European Atomic Energy Community (EURATOM) and energy efficiency.

Environmental Audit Committee

The remit of the Environmental Audit Committee is to consider the extent to which the policies and programmes of government departments and non-departmental public bodies contribute to environmental protection and sustainable development, and to audit their performance against sustainable development and environmental protection targets.

Unlike most select committees, the Committee’s remit cuts across government rather than focuses on the work of a particular department.

Committee on Climate Change

The Committee on Climate Change (CCC) advises the government on emissions targets and reports to Parliament on progress made in reducing greenhouse gas emissions.